The city was founded by the Phoenicians, who built a settlement near the hill on which the Alcazaba stands today. During Roman times, Malaga obtained the benefits of being declared a confederated city of Rome.

Under the rule of the Moors, the city enjoyed an era of great progress, however, in 1487 it was re-conquered by the Catholic Monarchs, following which it fell into relentless decline.

By the end of the 18th century, beginning of the 19th, a high-class bourgeoisie had been formed, comprised mainly of two families: the Larios and the Heredia, thanks to whom Malaga became the second most important industrial centre in the country.

Converted into a world capital of tourism, thanks to the development of the Costa del Sol, today Malaga continues to grow.

What to see in Málaga

  • The Cathedral.  or Catedral de la Encarnación, was erected on the site where the city's main mosque had stood during the eight centuries of Muslim domination. Building on the cathedral began in the first half of the 16th century and continued throughout the 17th and 18th century, although it is still unfinished as it is missing the top part of the main façade and the south tower is incomplete. Nevertheless, this fact has, over time, become an original feature that is the origin of its being nicknamed 'La Manquita' (one-armed).
  • The Roman theatre is situated at the foot of the Alcazaba. The theatre was built in times of Augustus and was used until the 3rd century; after that it was used as a quarry by the Moors to restore the Alcazaba, where Roman column shafts and capitals can be seen.
  • The Alcazaba This impressive building, built mostly in the 11th century, was the palace-fortress of the city's governing Muslims. It was built on the summit of a hill, adapted to the relief. It is formed by two walled areas, the lower, which is a huge space that follows the topography of the hill and surrounds the upper part completely.
  • Plaza del Obispo. This square is located in front of the Episcopal Palace, next to the Cathedral. It is a small square but with great monumental interest, enclosed as it is by two huge religious buildings and with a beautiful fountain that dates back to 1785 and was supplied with water from the San Telmo Aqueduct.
  • Plaza de la Constitución. This square originally called 'Main Square' or, during the Nazari period, 'Square of the Four Streets', became Constitution Square in 1812. Since before Christianity, it had been the heart of the city's historical quarter and since the 15th century to the present day, it has been the city's public and political space, par excellence.
  • Picasso Museum of Málaga. This museum is located in the Buenavista Palace, a 17th century Renaissance building and the most important example of stately home architecture of the period. The donations made by Christine and Bernard Ruiz-Picasso, a total of 155 works by Pablo Picasso.
  • Málaga Park Malaga treasures a rich and spectacular botanical heritage, which like every legacy is a result of a great loving dedication. 

malga youtube 

Read 2014 times